2021 Ernest Scott Prize – Shortlist

Congratulations to the six authors who have been shortlisted for the 2021 Ernest Scott Prize. This prestigious award is run by the University of Melbourne, and is given to the book judged to be the most distinguished contribution to the history of Australia or New Zealand or to the history of colonisation published in the previous year.

In particular, we congratulate the following three authors whose books contain a substantive New Zealand component:

  • Hirini Kaa, Te Hāhi Mihinare: The Māori Anglican Church (Bridget Williams Books)
  • James Keating, Distant Sisters: Australasian Women and the International Struggle for the Vote, 1880-1914 (Manchester University Press)
  • Ian Smith, Pākehā Settlements in a Māori World: New Zealand Archaeology, 1769-1860 (Bridget Williams Books)

The full shortlist and details of the six books can be found at https://arts.unimelb.edu.au/news/2021-ernest-scott-prize-shortlist-announced